The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

22698569

In less than a year, Kelsea Glynn has grown from an awkward teenager into a powerful monarch and a visionary leader.

And as she has come into her own as the Queen of the Tearling, she has transformed her realm. But in her quest to end corruption and restore justice, she has made many enemies – chief among them the evil and feared Red Queen, who ordered the armies of Mortmesne to march against the Tear and crush them.

To protect her people from such a devastating invasion, Kelsea did the unthinkable – naming the Mace, the trusted head of her personal guards, Regent in her place, she surrendered herself and her magical sapphires to her enemy. But the Mace will not rest until he and his men rescue their sovereign from her prison in Mortmesne.

So, the endgame has begun and the fate of Queen Kelsea – and the Tearling itself – will be revealed…

With The Fate of the Tearling, Erika Johansen draws her unforgettable story full of magic and adventure to a thrilling close.

THIS IS A SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Never thought I’d give a book in this series anything less than a 5/5 but good lord if that ending didn’t just ruin the whole thing. I loved everything right up until the last chapter. That last chapter made me question the existence of this entire series, this series I loved so much. I still love it, but I feel I’ll have to love it without that last chapter, like cutting out an ex-boyfriend from an old picture.

What Worked for Me

Main character • • • I think Kelsea will always be one of my favorite characters.  I love her dignity, poise, and quick wit, and I love that she doesn’t shy away from taking charge but takes advice from those who know more about something than she does.  She was a great narrator; I hated it when it switched to someone else’s point of view.

Plot • • • There was a lot riding on this book, and with the exception of the last few chapters, it was pretty good.  I thought it was engaging and swift and well worth the wait.  Especially, for those of you who have read the previous books, the reveal of Kelsea’s father.  Given how long Erika Johansen held onto the information, I knew it had to be good, and it was.

Writing style • • • Still can’t fault Erika Johansen’s writing.  It’s the kind that isn’t too flowery or too minimalistic, but strikes an efficient middle ground that makes the writing almost disappear as you read.

What Didn’t

What on God’s green earth was that ending?  I’ve never had such a full stop reversal happen at the end of a series like that and it did not work for me at all.  Not that I wouldn’t love to see more of Erika Johansen’s work. Just maybe a series where the ending doesn’t invalidate the entirety of the story that came before it? That would be great.

Takeaway

As the ending of a series, I’m disappointed, but it was still worth the read.

Book Info

478 pages • Book 3 • Published November 2016 by Harper

View on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

