Month in Review: June 2017

Biggest blog news this month: I created this blog!

6GbZa

I imported my reviews from my writing blog, Miz Writer Lady, and they came with their timestamps, so the archives go back a few years, but The Once and Future Reader has only been around a few short weeks.

Here’s what I’ve done this month!

General

I finally settled on a layout and header.  I went through a few headers before I finally settled on the one I have now.

My favorite is the red and gold one, but it didn’t match any of the palette choices that come with my preferred layout. 😦  So I had to create something that matched.

I like the one I have now, because I think the crown is a good nod to the Arthurian reference of my blog title.  Also, purple is my second favorite color.  So that also works out nicely.

Reviews

Before you look too impressed, I didn’t read all of these books this month.  I’m trying to catch up on my backlog.  On average, I read about a book a week.

What’s your average reading rate?

Blogs I Followed

Personal

By the time this post is live, I’ll be home from England.  In fact, as of July 1, I’ll be Stateside but still working on getting home.  (Thanks to an overnight layover in North Carolina.)  I’ll miss England, where I studied English lit and Creative Writing and traveled around for six months.  If you wanna see all my pictures, I posted a ton on my Instagram.  As much as I’ll miss it, I’ll be glad to be home, where I get to see these crazy animals:

I also turned 23 on the 23rd (which, it took me a while to find this, apparently it was my “golden birthday”?  Cool beans).  I was in England for my birthday, but it was still a great day and I had a lot of fun with one of my friends that I met here in England.  We saw Wonder Woman (again), grabbed pizza and cupcakes and hung out in my room where we watched Gifted (with Chris Evans) and Real Steel (with Hugh Jackman) and played cards and waved our glow stick bracelets around to make it a real party.

In other news, I’m getting pumped for Camp NaNoWriMo.  My goal for July is 35,000 words.  In attempting a 30 day 60k challenge recently with my critique partner, Alexis Henderson, I realized that trying to write 2,000 words a day doesn’t work for me.  1,000 words a day is much more my speed.  But I also want to challenge myself, so 35,000 words it is.  I’m actually hoping to make it to 40,000, but we’ll see!  If you’d like to follow me (or join me!) on my July journey, head over to Miz Writer Lady for updates!

I also saw Wonder Woman in theaters (twice)–and it was awesome.  I was reserved before I saw it, because DC hasn’t had a good track record lately, but I was so empowered both times after seeing it; I felt physically buoyed walking out of the theater.  Another pleasant surprise of a movie find this month was the 2015 remake of The Man From U.N.C.L.E.  I might be slightly obsessed with it, actually. :”> #noregrets

Leave a Reply

